Tags

, , ,

black-bar 8To start, I will say this about my actions yesterday.  I voted, I sat with a family after a major surgery, someone was elected.  I will never – ever – talk about who I voted for and if I am happy with the election results.

The black bar does not mean that I am displeased with the election results.

The black bar means that I saw pastors who basically told 50% of the country that they were not welcome in their churches.

The black bar means that I saw people who called people I love and care about racist and bigots, people who truly are neither.

The black bar means that people were called evil because they found themselves voting between two evils and decided the “wrong” evil was lesser.

The black bar means I’ve seen more hatred in the 2 hours I’ve been awake than I’d seen most of the election.

The black bar means that I’ve seen gloating that ignores the feelings of those who have been given reason to fear.

The black bar means that I have friends who believe that their life is now at risk because of how the election turned out.

The black bar means that I am so angry at how divided our nation is, that people would publicly call each other evil and never attempt to find a middle ground.

The black bar means that I have not seen a singular post about love and, in fact, have been posts and tweets saying that we aren’t supposed to post like that because it ignores the feelings of those who now are in fear.

The black bar means that our response to the election is shameful, that racism and sexism, false accusation of racism and sexism, stupidity and not caring, false accusations of stupidity and not caring, ignoring the needs of the other, false accusations of ignoring the needs of the other, and every other voice whose goal is to coerce compliance by guilt or, even worse, drive the wedge of division deeper into our national fabric are all so bleak.

The black bar means that I want to scream at every person on social media and yet I have no words that can heal, that can calm, and that can make us not hate each other.

The world is doing violence to our souls this morning, and we need to stop.  Telling people you are mourning their victory and their victory will bring about their death, or telling people that their feelings don’t count and their fears are completed unfounded, is doing violence to the peace that Christ’s called us to work towards.

I just want us to stop hurting each other today.

Can we please just love each other today?  It has been 16 months of vile hatred and lies and propaganda from all sides; today, when nothing political can be accomplished and our dividing lines mean nothing for 2 months, can we please act like friends and loved ones?

God, grant us peace.

 

