Tags

, , , ,

kitchenSo I have a picture I want to share.  And by picture, I mean I took it to look exactly the way it does.  It isn’t special; it just proves a point.

bread0What do these two items have in common?  One looks healthy – we even get wheat instead of white! – white the other is concentrated delicious sin.

The question I have is, why do they share an ingredient?  I’ve made drinks, and I’ve made bread, and the only thing they shared was water.  But for some reason – some actual reason – the world has decided that high fructose corn syrup belongs in bread.

Pop has syrup.  It doesn’t matter if it comes from cane sugar or weird corn, it has syrup.  That’s part of what makes it pop.  Bread has sugar so the yeast can eat and work.  Not syrup to keep it moister, longer, and make it sweeter.

Or at least it shouldn’t.  Just no.

The problem is that we don’t make special trips to buy bread.  Meat, fresh fruit, and other things, yes, but bread is one of those items that Nora picks up at work.  It’s just easier that way.

So I decided I wanted to make bread that doesn’t have it.  No high fructose corn syrup – or syrup at all – and maybe get good enough to make sandwich bread.

Not quite there yet, but ya know.

This is the recipe that I started with.  Credit where credit is due and all that.  I assume if you follow that recipe, you will get some delicious white bread.  But if you follow my recipe, you will get some delicious, buttery wheat bread.

Well, half wheat anyway.

bread1The non-cold ingredients.  Bread flour, whole wheat flour, honey, yeast.  I decided to not just have the cold ingredients sitting out for no reason.

I also had an ingenious idea.  Every recipe says combine 110° water with 110° milk.  I thought, “Boiling water plus hot melted butter plus cold milk should roughly be 110°.”

Worked perfectly.  So you combine milk, water, butter, and honey with the yeast and you get the grossest looking mixture ever.

bread2Let that sit a bit for the yeast to start working.  Bubbles are good.  I didn’t get any, but the mixture was just a bit cooler at that point.

But I did get bread so WOOHOO! me.

You put the flour and salt into the mixer, and then slowly mix in the liquid and yeast.

And mix.  And mix and mix and mix.  And it will start looking like this:

Yup, I put it on YouTube. Because why not.

BECAUSE IT’S LAME, ROBBY, THAT’S WHY!

Anyway, mix for ten minutes and then get ready to knead.

bread3Sprinkle flour on the table and knead.  If you are like me and want you, you can also knead in some oatmeal.

Knead, knead, knead, and then put into a greased bowl, roll it around…

bread4…cover and let rise.  If you can, add some warmth to make it rise better.

bread5It will double in size.  Then punch down and put into bread pan(s) and allow to rise again.  You can split it, or leave it be in one pan.  I did two and I kind of wish I had done one.

bread7After it rises, it will look a little like this.  I added oatmeal on top for effect.  Then bake in the oven at 350 for 50ish minutes.  Make sure to put a glass dish with water in it for the baking.

bread8Tada!  Bread!

It was SOOO good, too.  Like really good.

Delicious Bread

1 3/4 Cups Bread Flour
1 3/4 Cups Whole Wheat Flour
2 teaspoons Salt
1 Cup Cold Milk
1/3 Cup Boiling Water
3 Tablespoons Hot Melted Butter
3 Tablespoons Honey
2 1/4 teaspoons Dry Active Yeast (1 Envelope for those who use envelopes)
Flour and Oatmeal to Knead

1. Combine Flours and Salt in Mixer.
2. Combine Milk, Water, and Butter.  Add to honey and yeast.  Allow to proof.
3. Add liquid to dry ingredients and mix ~10 minutes on low.4. Remove Dough from mixer and knead into flour and oatmeal.
5. Place dough in oiled bowl.  Cover dough in oil.  Cover bowl and allow to double in size.
6. Punch dough down, place in bread pan(s), allow to rise again.
7. Preheat oven to 350° with water in glass dish in oven
8. Bake bread for ~50 minutes.
9. Devour half a loaf because fresh bread is SO MUCH BETTER THAN STORE BOUGHT!

It was so good.  Maybe next time I’ll leave it whole and make sandwich sized bread suitable for slicing and making…sandwiches…with.

To crafting food!
– Robby

P.S.: I promise a beer post sometime this week.

